The Gadget That Started it All

Image

I have always been a fan of greeting cards, so much so that I would spend literally hours looking for just the right one.  After a while, I abandoned my searching in lieu of creating my own.  I have been known to cut, paste, and stencil my mornings away in an effort to make that perfect paper creation.  While I still spend plenty of time pouring over designs, I have found a faster, more precise, and all around wonderful gadget to help me with my cutting needs!

Anyone who knows craft gadgets is probably thinking that I am talking about the Cricut, but that’s where you would be wrong.  I first saw the commercials for the Cricut a few years ago and nearly purchased one on the spot, but decided to do a little research first.  I found that as amazing and wonderful as the Cricut seemed, it was not quite suited to my needs.  I needed a gadget that I could be even more creative with; that would accept my designs, rather than the pre-purchased cartridges that the Cricut uses.  It didn’t take long for me to find, and fall in love with it’s competitor the Silhouette SD!

http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/whatisit.aspx

Over the past year or so their software has greatly improved making the little gadget near perfect for making cards and paper creations of all kinds.  I love that I can create my own designs in illustrator and cut them on this little beauty.  For simple shapes, the SD software is perfect.  Also, if designing your own is a little out of your league, they have an extensive library of designs for a great price!

UPDATE!:

The Silhouette SD has been recently discontinued to make way for the new Silhouette Cameo.  I still strongly recommend the SD, and if you can find it for sale, chances are you’ll get a great deal!

I will be keeping my eye out for reviews on the new Cameo.  The Cameo will accept 12″ paper, making it ideal for scrapbook papers.  It’ll also have a quieter motor, which I’m sure my husband will appreciate when I’m working away early in the morning!

Leave a Reply

