Halloween Costume Idea: Paper Eyelashes

Standard

There is a blog that I follow called “All Things Paper,” written by Ann Martin, a quilling enthusiast who tends to find the most amazing paper creations.  First of all, if you don’t know what quilling is, look it up.  Better yet, check out Ann’s Blog because it is some pretty cool stuff.

About a month ago, “All Things Paper” featured a post about some fun, decorative, fashion lashes made out of paper.  The lashes are made by a company called Paperself, and they feature a variety of designs including peacocks, butterflies, and clown lashes among others.

When I first saw these lashes, my mind immediately went to how I could incorporate these into a Halloween costume.  I actually have a friend who is planning to be a peacock for Halloween, and these lashes would be perfect for her!

Without giving too much away, none of these lashes really fit the costume that I have in mind for myself.  I am planning to go as a notorious criminal of sorts, so I immediately thought that lashes with some sort of bomb motif would be fun.  I couldn’t find any lashes similar to what I was looking for, so I figured, why not make them myself?  As mentioned in previous posts, I have a Silhouette SD, and it can do some pretty intricate cuts.  I decided to try my hand at creating my own paper eyelashes.

After a few attempts, I found that the Silhouette could not cut quite as finely as I would have liked.  I ended up using individual lashes that were about 0.01 inches wide, and that were spaced at about 0.03 inches.  It took about 5 tries before I had a design that did not get eaten up by the Silhouette blade, or destroyed when I tried to remove it from the carrying mat.  The final product is shown to the right.

I still was not sure if they would work out, so I decided I might as well try them on!  I applied them above my natural lashes and used an eyelash curler just like you would with any other set of false lashes, and voila!  Home-made false lashes made of paper!

4 responses »

  1. Fantastic, Erica – they look great! I hope you’ll show your whole costume at some point. And thanks very much for the link to my site; I’m glad you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

