Last Minute DIY Halloween Costume Idea: Nyan Cat (a.k.a. Poptart Cat)

Standard

There is only one full weekend left before the Halloween festivities begin!  I was originally planning for my husband and I to go as Boris and Natasha, but let’s be honest, it’s a pretty obscure reference.  You’ve probably just googled it yourself!  Last week, an idea popped into my head that I could go as Nyan Cat.  Nearly everyone knows what Nyan Cat (a.k.a. Poptart Cat) is!  If you don’t, check it out here, and be baffled by it’s absurdity!

Yes, Nyan Cat is absurd.  But it is recognizable, and would be a great DIY costume.  So,  I’m going to give it a try!  Here’s what I’m thinking…

I’m going to start by wearing a black skirt, a black t-shirt, and some long black gloves.  I have some printable iron-on paper, so I am going to print a large pop-tart and some pixellated star-like features, cut them out using my Silhouette, and iron them onto the shirt.  For my “paws” I will iron paw pads onto the palms of the hands of the gloves.

I purchased some ears and a tail from the local Halloween shop and for the rainbow, I decided to get some tall rainbow socks!  I purchased the socks at Sock Dreams in Sellwood, OR, where the staff was super friendly and helpful!  They also have an on-line shop where you can buy any type of sock imaginable!

Update 10/29/11:

I was finally able to pull it all together.  Here’s how it turned out:

2 responses »

  1. Looking good! Will you still wear the paper eyelashes? I hope so! What’s a poptart cat without little bombs and stars? 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with for your husband. Not knowing what he looks like, this might not work, but my son dressed up last year as the guy in the Verizon FiOS commercials because he happened to have the same kind of jacket, has dark hair, and just added glasses and a name tag. Super easy and people liked it.

    Since you have a Silhouette, I’ll mention that there’s a quick giveaway for Halloween cutting files going on on my site until tonight at 9 in case you’d like to throw your hat into the ring.

    • Thanks Ann! If I have time, I’ll make a new set of lashes with just stars. Nyan Cat is in space, after all!
      I did see your giveaway. Those coffins are very cute, but I don’t have an immediate need for them. I decided to leave my name out of the hat on this one and hope that someone who really needed them won!

Leave a Reply

