Last Minute Halloween Decoration Idea: Ghost Pops

Standard

I never decorate my home for Halloween.  I never know if I’ll be home to pass out candy, so I’d rather not have trick-or-treaters come to my door only to find out there is no candy to be had.  Instead, if I am home, I try to find a way to display the goods in a cute way.  Usually this means buying a Halloween bowl of some kind when I grab the candy at the store.

This year, I thought it would be fun to dress up the candy in it’s own costume!  To do this, I have turned Tootsie pops into tiny ghosts!  I’ve even made a little diorama of sorts to display them in.  Doing this is super simple, and a fun way to display your Halloween candy to the kids.

For the ghosts, purchase some white tissue paper from the dollar store.  (Many directions indicate to use kleenex, but I have found it difficult to draw a clean face on them.)  Cut the tissue paper into approximately 6″ by 6″ squares.  On one of the squares, use a ball point pen to draw a ghostly face, approximately 1/2″ from the center of the tissue paper.  Layer 2 sheets of cut tissue paper together, leaving the one with the face on top.  Drape the papers over the Tootsie pop and tie at the “neck” with a ribbon or thread.

For the diorama, get some styrofoam or florists foam and a container of some kind.  Cut the foam to fit into the container.  Using hot glue, adhere some decorative moss on top of the foam and insert the sticks from your ghost pops.  For my diorama, I used my Silhouette SD and the available designs to dress up the scene.  I glued toothpicks to the backs of my cut-outs and inserted them into my diorama to make it really pop!

Leave a Reply

