Thanksgiving Recipe: Cornbread Stuffing with Apricot and Pancetta

Standard

Anyone who knows me well knows that I love turkey! For that reason alone, Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. Don’t get me wrong, it’s great to hang out with family and to have an extra day off, but for me (like most), it’s about the food! At Mom’s house, Thanksgiving is all about tradition. The menu consists of nearly all of the traditional Thanksgiving foods, right down to the candied yams! My favorite part of the Thanksgiving prep every year is making the stuffing! My sisters and I line up, taking turns adding a wide array of spices until we all agree that it is spiced just right, though it never touches the bird until it has met Mom’s exacting standards.

As the years have gone by, I have begun hosting my own Thanksgiving dinners. As much as I try, I just don’t have what it takes to make Mom’s stuffing just right. Instead of trying to copy a masterpiece, I have decided to move on from traditional and try something that is all my own.

The stuffing that I prefer to use on the big Turkey Day is a cornbread stuffing with apricot and pancetta. It was strange, the recipe came to me one day out of nowhere, and I had to rush home to try it out! Because of this, the original recipe for my stuffing includes chicken broth so that the stuffing can be baked in a casserole dish. If you want to use this recipe in the bird, omit the broth.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (8-inch square) pan cornbread (from mix or homemade)
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 cup apricot preserves
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 4 slices pancetta, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped turkish apricots
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth
Directions:
1.  Crumble cooked cornbread into a large mixing bowl.
2.  In a medium skillet, saute celery, onion, butter, pancetta, and cumin until onions are tender.  Stir in preserves, pecans, and apricots.  Toss with cornbread.
3.  Place mixture in a greased 2 quart casserole dish.  drizzle broth over stuffing.
4.  bake at 325 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes, until heated through and lightly browned.
One response »

  1. Pingback: How to Cook a Turducken: My Turducken Experience « Elated Life

Leave a Reply

