How to Make Your Own Paper Christmas Ornaments

Standard

At home, we have a very wide range of christmas ornaments that range from delicate, intricately painted glass to candy cane reindeer that I made when I was 5.  The tree is always such a hodgepodge!  When I moved out on my own and had to purchase my own christmas ornaments, I decided that my tree would be very chic with a silver and blue color scheme.  I have to admit, it looked fantastic!  Over the years, however, I have come to miss the hodgepodge.  I have been adding little ornaments here and there to try to mix it up a bit.  Recently, I have seen a bunch of paper globe ornaments around.  Looking around, I have found several templates, including the one shown below which I found at rubberstamping.about.com.

Using my Silhouette SD, manually digitized the above template and made my own little ornament!  I used the perforated line to “score” the folds, and it worked great!

While searching for a template for the globe ornaments, I also came across Canon’s Creative Park website.  They have tons of 3D paper creations that you can print from your home computer for free!  Each project comes with detailed directions to easily create some really cute stuff.  One of my favorites was the template for the snowman ornaments.  Check it out here.

Leave a Reply

