Holiday Gift Wrapping: How To Make Your Own Fabric Gift Bows

Standard

My obsession with paper tends to get a little out of control around the holidays.  There are so many lovely, cute, and just plain awesome gift wrapping options available that I find it hard to hold back on not buying them all!  Last year, I promised myself that I would not buy any new wrapping paper until I used what I had.  It was tough.  Really, really tough.  But I did it, and we all know what that means!  I am free to buy loads of new paper this year!  I have several rolls already, and I am going to be honest, there will probably be more!

Gift giving tends to get a little out of control right along with the paper buying.  I usually set a budget for myself, and blow it out of the water in a matter of days!  This means, however, that I will have even more beautiful presents to adorn the space beneath my tree.  In my opinion, the wrapping is nearly as important as the gift itself!  I have spent years perfecting my wrapping skills, but there is one thing that I feel really makes the gift wrapping shine….and that is the bow!  I will admit that I have been guilty of buying the giant bag o’ bows from the seasonal section of the grocery store.  They are just too affordable to ignore, but instead of slapping a mass produced bow on every gift, i like to mix it up with a few of my own hand made varieties.

This year, I made a design for a cute little paper bow.  They are designed so that I can either put some tape on the back and stick them to the gift directly, or I can run a ribbon through the back for an even more classic look!

These bows are great for smaller presents, but for the large gifts, nothing beats a big, beautiful, fabric gift bow!  I like to use ribbon with wire edges, as they are easier to shape once they are assembled.  The length and width of ribbon that I use depends on the size of the bow, and the number of loops.  In the example below, I used about 6′ of 1.5″ wide ribbon for the bow itself, and looped it 8 times.  You can do whatever looks right to you!

What You Need:

  • Fabric Ribbon
  • Scissors
  • A small piece of String or curling ribbon
  • Double sided tape or Glue Dots

Directions:

Start with the end of the ribbon under your thumb.

Wrap the ribbon around your hand 6 to 10 times.  The more loops you do, the fuller your bow will be.  Also, the size of the loop will be the approximate diameter of your bow.



Cut the other end of the ribbon, making sure that the ends overlap at the bottom of your loops.




Hold together the center of the bow, and cut notches out of each side.  Be careful not to cut yourself when using wire ribbon…it can be hard to cut through.



Using a small piece of string or curling ribbon, tie together the layers of looped ribbon at the notches.



Turn over your bow.  While holding onto the string at the bottom of the bow, fan out the loops.  Spread each loop away from the others and twist.  Do this for all of the loops and form your bow until it looks right.



Using a piece of double sided tape or a glue dot (I like to use Zots 3D), adhere your bow to the package.  Make any final adjustments before placing the gift under the tree.  So Festive!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

