DIY Christmas Wreaths: 5 Wreaths You Can Make to Decorate Your Home

Standard

Grape Vine Wreath

A few years ago, I thought that it would be fun to make a little wreath to help decorate my home for Christmas.  I expected it to be somewhat difficult and time-consuming, but the opposite was true!  It turns out that making your own christmas wreaths (if you start with a base) is really, really easy…and you get some gorgeous results!  The wreath that is pictured above is my own creation.  I just purchased a grape-vine wreath and some artificial flowers and berries from the craft store and threw it all together in less than an hour!  I just used hot glue and crafting wire to hold everything together, and made a little hook out of crafting wire for the back.  It was super simple, and has been a part of my holiday decorations for years!  It got me to thinking though, what other awesomely easy Christmas wreaths are out there to make?  I did a little searching and this is what I came up with.

One of my favorite looks for wreaths has been the cluster of christmas ornaments.  They are just so bright, shiny, and festive that you can’t help but stop to admire them!  Turns out, they are not too hard to make either!  I found a great tutorial on Matt and Becky’s Blog.  You can see their results below, and I have to say they did a beautiful job!

Matt and Becky's Ornament Ball Wreath

Recently, I have been seeing a lot of felt flowers around.  I love how soft and cute they are!  Jen, from Tater Tots and Jello has shared her sister’s awesome tutorial for how to make a gorgeous wreath and even provides a link showing how to make one of her favorite felt flowers.  It all came together quite nicely, and looks fantastic!

Felt Flower Wreath from Tater Tots and Jello

Recently, I have been intrigued by all of the awesome things that you can do with paper…particularly recycled paper.  I have seen many, many fun crafts that can be done using old toilet paper tubes.  Of course, making a wreath out of them is on the list!  See you there design provides a great tutorial for making a really cute wreath out of recycled toilet paper and paper towel tubes.  Just don’t forget the most important tool of all…that glass of your favorite wine!

See You There Design's Cardboard Tube Wreath

Finally, it wouldn’t be right to have a post about Christmas wreaths without a tutorial on how to make the classic fresh fir wreath.  Let’s be honest…nothing beats the real thing!  Save-on-Crafts has a great post with directions for how to make your own fresh greenery wreath.  There is also some discussion about different wreath forms and many more ideas for making some awesome wreaths!

Fresh Wreath

One response »

  1. Yours at the top is so pretty! I love lamb’s ear and that’s what the leaves remind me of, except they’re not the usual soft green. It’s very autumn-like, but I can see that it would transition into the holidays too.

Leave a Reply

